A washi skyline

0614_7188

Did anyone guess? A washi project on the horizon… a skyline is a horizon of sorts yes?

I started with a very. blank. wall. For the only room in the house that I consider almost done, this view is as undone as you can get. If this scares you like it does me, go take some comfort with a scroll through this.

I did give this wall a wipe down yesterday. But that was it for preparation.

0614_7177

I had my washi tape. Let’s be honest – I had a choice of washi tape. These four were my narrowed down choice.0614_7179

I put some pieces on the wall to help me make a decision. Being the boy corner of the bedroom blue was the colour of the day. The boy has pink and flowers on his quilt (although I’ve made him a manned up duvet cover for when it gets cooold), so I’m doing my best to even things out for him! I quickly ruled out #1 and #2… just because I have never liked them a lot. #4 is my favourite but I wondered if it might be too pale to make an impact, and so #3 it was. I also like the twinkly lights thing going on with #3… a twinkly night skyline? Oooh yes!0614_7180

Tools of the trade: washi tape of choice, scissors (tidy cuts make the corner joins a little tidier), and a picture on my phone for inspiration0614_7181

And then I got sidetracked. No more photos until we’re done…

One sweet washi taped skyline for Master W to gaze at until the twinkly lights lull him off to sleep. (After 3 1/2 years I still kid myself he’s that perfect, well-behaved child who won’t protest madly all the way to bed and then demand more kisses and water and toilet visits at the top of his voice before suddenly crashing to sleep and silence reigns once more…)0614_7182 0614_7184

If it doesn’t charm him at bedtime then perhaps it’ll give him another little corner to play during the day! Who doesn’t need a city skyline for fire engines to roar by or tow trucks to rescue broken cars alongside? 0614_7187

Or cuddly friends to have chats with? 0614_7188

I know already that this will be one of those little projects that take so little time and effort, but are so rewarding. Every time I walk in that door (a million times a day!) I will turn my head and smile at the little twinkling city in the corner.

And me being me, my next thought will be what else I can fill the blank space above with!

0614_7189In a life of so many projects that take weeks and months to finish, it helps to have these kind of 15 minute ones that make you feel like you’ve done something. You’ve started something, and you’ve finished something. All in one day! I won’t tell you what I’m avoiding so I could complete and share this with you. But I promised (next time I won’t be so foolish – and then my house might get vacuumed… oops I gave it away!) so I hope you love it!

 

12 thoughts on “A washi skyline

    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks Jen! I have been to visit it a few times already… Just had a look over on your blog – you’re the one who did the amazing illustrated duvet cover?! Awesome 🙂

      Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks! Yes, it can come off pretty easily. Washi tape is definitely removeable. I think the kids may end up removing it before I want to, just by playing around it!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Red, white & blue | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: Ambientes Infantiles | Decora con Washi Tape | Nosolobebes | proyectos, vivencias, decoración,… cosas de niños y bebés

  3. Pingback: Somewhere to hang your hat | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: How do we DIY?… Tortoise or hare? | Duck Egg Blue

  5. Pingback: Pin of the day: A starry night | Duck Egg Blue

  6. Pingback: 10 Ideas geniales para decorar paredes con washi tape

Leave a comment