Laundry imperfection

Now that the purveyor of fine things has seen the good, the bad and the ugly of all that is going on (or not!) at my house right now, I can show the rest of you the laundry development.

As is the kitchen, the laundry is 95% finished, and if I wait for 100% you might never get to see anything. So ready or not, this is it, starting at the end of August with a wall (about to be removed):

Then the insertion of extra tall doors to maximise the space (it makes it look very narrow in photos, but the whole laundry is just over 1200mm wide):

Electrical work done, and MDF lining in (as with the linen cupboard, this requires no stopping, and means you can be more flexible with shelving):

Then primed, painted and the dryer and cabinet in:

Shelves in:

Then my two men were down on hands and knees to fill in holes in the floorboards where the wall had been. The floors are rimu and we used rimu putty which seems to be working ok colour-wise.

And then sand it (thank you husband for attaching the vacuum cleaner!). Varnishing happened somewhere a bit later…:

A new benchtop fitted (we bought a piece off Trademe and cut it down to fit. At $48 it was worth the small amount of extra effort! It’s not a complete match with the kitchen but is near enough to keep me satisfied.):

We repurposed the old kitchen sink to use it here – it scrubbed up quite nicely and is roomy enough for a bucket but not so big it takes up all the bench space. And as far as the tap went we opted for cheap over awesome. Here’s Andre drilling a hole for the tap:

The below image is a good one – it shows how my house looks a lot of the time. Tools, dust and doors every which where. It is intended as a plumbing work in progress shot though, so do take note of the pipes under the sink, and take special note of how tidy they are… nice job husband and thank you for spending most of a whole Saturday under the house, not only hooking up the new laundry but supervising the little one under there too!

And today, this is how it’s looking:

I contemplated using “makeover” in the title, but we’re not quite there yet which is why you don’t get the styled shot and I didn’t even bother to remove the lopsided stack of buckets and washing basket.

Still to do is the following:

1. Install kickboard under cabinet
2. Install tiles around bench (Mitre 10 and everywhere else I got to is suddenly out of stock of gloss white mosaics for 2-6weeks!)
3. Purchase storage containers (in a colour please, I have enough white!) to organise and tidy shelves …Side note #1: needing extra icecream containers is a poor excuse for treating ourselves to icecream every night.
4. Purchase baskets (fabric?) in coordinating colour with storage containers to sit on top of dryer to disguise bare gap and balance out top shelf
5. Paint doors and trim
6. Find and fit door handles (preferably to match existing hardware… hmmm…)

As is the way though in our house right now (and quite possibly forever and always…) once it’s done enough to be functional, we’re on to the next “big project” which does make me concerned about when the last little 5% might get done, and when I can do the fun part of styling and showing off some images fit for a home design glossy…

Still, onwards and upwards, there’s a new baby coming and a bedroom needs to be finished.

Side note #2: In case you’re wondering about the office nook – it has lights and powerpoints and is primed and puttied up, but is a bit on hold as the bedroom is more important right now. Or was I the only one wondering…?

11 thoughts on “Laundry imperfection

  1. Hootnz

    That is a awesome laundry, that works well… I have a cupboard one too, and is also in need of finishing ( for the last 5 months lol ) Nice to see someone in the state of tools and dust… tis my life aswell…. dreaming of the day when I have carpet or atleast no paint splattered floors

    Reply
  2. missbrownedesign

    Aw, shucks! Thanks for your kind words – I’m blushing!

    I realised when I got home that your tub was your old kitchen sink – cool! Also, your lovely new laundry inspired me to tidy and rearrange ours – out go the old Countdown baskets that hold the cleaning products, and off to Bunnings tomorrow for some nicer storage!!

    It’s really interesting seeing just how much work goes into a project you think is probably kind of simple – you guys are such hard workers, and your house is definitely showing the rewards of all that work! x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      I figure if I keep linking to your blog it might make you post more nice things!
      Yes, we were happy to keep the old kitchen sink – I like it being round, and it’s in pretty good condition so why not?! Good for you sorting out your laundry, I dread trips to Bunnings at the moment as I spend all my time chasing the little one up the aisles… it’s just not worth it! Maybe on Saturday I’ll sneak away on my own for a while.
      Thanks for your visit xo

      Reply
  3. Pingback: In the background | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: Colours of Holland | Duck Egg Blue

  5. Pingback: The Block NZ: My Bathroom & Laundry | Duck Egg Blue

  6. Pingback: Turning over a clean leaf | Duck Egg Blue

  7. Pingback: Fresh and light | Duck Egg Blue

  8. Pingback: Small spaces: a sink nook | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a comment