In the background

Making a house a home is not just about cracking out a new kitchen, or doing back-breaking demolition, or even major concrete pours, sometimes it’s just about washing, washing and more washing.

Today, I am aiming to get to the bottom of the washing basket and to find the spare bed and laundry bench again… they’re in there somewhere, I know they are!

That’s not one pile of washing you see on the bed, it’s two. And there are piles on each of the three chairs in the room, not to mention the ironing draped over the airer. Let’s not mention the boxes, or how the blanket on the bed is not exactly tucked in. Or the fact that there is another load of washing in the machine, AND in the dryer.

It looks like I’m trying to run a pharmacy from my laundry at the moment. I’m not – I don’t have a license. This is how it looks most of the time – do you believe me?!

8 thoughts on “In the background

  1. miss browne design

    What’s ironing?! I did six loads of washing when we got back from holiday last week, so I know how you’re feeling! I contemplated taking it to the laundromat to get a few loads dried as we don’t have a dryer and I had run out of washing line and pegs, but then the weather prevailed and I managed to get it all dry, thank goodness! One thing that rattles me is not keeping on top of my washing!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      What’s ironing? Ask Andre – he usually gives up waiting for his favourite shirt and does it himself… poor man! I’m loving not having the washing on the sofa but I must admit out of sight is also out of mind and then I end up with empty drawers!

      Reply
  2. asha24

    It’s never ending isn’t it, especially with little ones 🙂 I miss our spare room – being able to throw everything in and shut the door so no one can see. Good luck tackling your washing piles x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Well I got it done, but as you say it’s never ending, and there is another lot waiting for me right now, and yet another about to start in the washing machine!

      Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Glad to know I’m not the only one! Yes, babies do take up a lot of time don’t they (just ask my toddler!), but aren’t they so much more interesting to watch than piles of washing?!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Changing rooms | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: One up for the girls | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

