Mid century style in Hamilton

Hamilton is known for a lot of things, but architecture isn’t one of them, as far as I know. Although to be fair, Hamilton and I have never been more than vague acquaintances.

So I was surprised but delighted to see HOME magazine has featured a gem of a mid century home in the heart of the city, overlooking Lake Rotoroa.

Lomus house Hamilton. Photograph by Paul McCredie.

I love the thought that has gone into the design of this house (courtesy of the owners, and the architect – Peter Middleton), and the spaces that were created to accommodate various family members and activities harmoniously.

Photographs by Paul McCredie.

There is even some adults-only territory, otherwise known as a parlour. But my favourite would have to be the library. And the fireplace. I love a handsome open fireplace.

Photographs by Paul McCredie.

The big reason I got excited though, was this:

Lomus house Hamilton - Peter Middleton

A floor plan!! Weirdo me, but show me a floor plan and I’ll be happy as Larry for hours after! This one is truly a good one, and after some perusal I can’t see anything I’d be in a hurry to change. There is outdoor access from almost every room, guest accommodation at the opposite end of the house to the kids rooms, a study nook (AND the library, don’t forget!) as well as a studio and store room. Wow!

They did make good houses back then. In Hamilton.

Happy hump day x

All photos by Paul McCredie. for HOME magazine.

Leave a Reply

