A halfway hallway

Back in the midst of our bedroom painting party, I thought we may as well get something going in the hallway as well. We had the paint right there, along with rollers, brushes, a step ladder, paint trays, screw drivers, paint stirring sticks, drop sheets/towels, sore arms and long faces. So why not?!

The hallway is a little dog leg of doorways and no space for much of anything, but that was no reason to neglect it any longer. That last patch of apricot-beige was calling – loudly – for some help.

Problem was… this.

0829_2192

Yep. Cracks. Plastering required. And maybe even gib…

0829_2193

Undeterred, I checked out the rest of the hallway and decided the front “half” was in ok condition. Just a few minor plaster touch ups needed. So I convinced Andre to get the plaster out again (ooooh he hates that stuff!) so I could start painting. It was easy enough that I could have done it myself, but I know that if I show any interest in getting acquainted with a new skill I’ll be in the thick of it in no time. I know my place, and I’m sticking with it!

0829_1963

0829_2030

But first, a proper before from back when Master W wore smaller shoes, and Miss E still needed a blanket by the door for stroller walks:

0829_6309

0829_6308

Actually these aren’t a true before because all those doors and all that trim were once far from white too.

But, a couple of nights and kids at kindy/in bed daytime hours later, and the walls were joining in with the lighter, brighter and fresher theme.

Here’s how it looked after the first coat. I wanted to get some more photos today with the morning sun streaming in here again, but I missed the little window of time due to dropping off kids and enjoying my coffee a little too long…
0829_2037

So today – minus the sun but still plenty light enough!0829_2176 0829_2177 0829_2178 0829_2179 0829_2181 0829_2182 0829_2184

0829_2187 0829_2189 0829_2191

Furnishing is a little sparse and/or temporary… the print was destined for our bedroom but didn’t look right there so I tacked it up out here out of the way and there it has stayed! It’s nice to have a reminder of the first home we owned, right by the front door of the first house we own! It cost about $7.50 to print at Warehouse Stationery. Cheap art!

The mat is really not right for this space but it’s doing a good job of minimising grubby footprints and reminding us of our time in Fiji. These mats are handmade by the villagers in dozens. It was one of these or a hand-carved turtle. I want to go back for the turtle…!

My lovely outside door mat is from Tea Pea Design – I snapped it up in their big sale a while back.

The little strip of ugly above the laundry doors will be my motivation to continue with the rest of the hall. But it means plaster dust in a very central part of the house which we can’t close off for too long (there’s a bathroom at the end which we all kinda need!). I’m working up the courage, and it may take some time…
0829_2185

Beyond the painting… I’m mulling over some wall hooks so I can artfully hang my best coat and stylish scarf to wear everywhere I go. And more artwork… and plants… for the walls – not for me to wear everywhere I go.

Have a lovely weekend!

PS. dum de dooo… dahhh dayyyyy…. scroll up…. up…. up….. see it? The sneak peek of my next project? Sharing next week some time.

Leave a Reply

