Small spaces: Families sleeping small

I had something else in mind for today, but on further investigation… it’s not as small as it first appears, and I couldn’t think of a good enough reason to include it in this weeks Small Spaces. But have a little look, as there are a few ideas to steal for a much smaller space – like the sunken bath, and some built in furniture.

So, another from my Pinterest filing system…

Cozy sleeping space / via Brooke Brooke on VSCO

It’s the time of year where I start getting itchy feet and think “this year? Will this year be the one we get to go on a family holiday in a campervan again?!” But with little Miss still hit and miss (with sleeping through the night) I’m not sure how relaxing it would be…

So I’m just looking at small spaces instead, and I love this combined sleeping area, for how well it could work for a small family (of good sleepers!).

You could use the lower bed as lounge seating during the day, simply by shifting the cushions up against the sill/shelf along the wall and making it a comfy day bed!

For a family with a couple of littlies, I’d have to make some modifications for safety, add a curtain to pull across at sleep time and ensure the sleeping nook up top would happily take two mattresses as I’m not sure how much sleep they’d get all in together! Another option would be to create bunks, but sacrifice some storage.

Although the storage is one thing I love about this layout!

I also love the white on white with the addition of natural colours and textures. It’s a somewhat surprising (to me) direction we seem to be heading in our bedroom…! And to be honest I’m enjoying the extra space we have in our l’il house with a third bedroom back in action. It’s ok to like small spaces at the same time as liking a few more useable square metres in our fulltime house isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

