A spot too much?

Last Friday, I mentioned a little project I had planned for the weekend.

Despite writing this time-consuming post, and feeling a bit unenthusiastic about a Saturday with a headache, I did manage to complete it on Saturday night, and hang it (clue!) on Sunday.

So, let the polka dot fun begin….

.    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .   .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .    .

0403_0202

0403_0207 0403_0204 0403_0205 0403_0206
0403_0210 0403_0211 0403_0212 0403_0214 0403_0216 0403_0217 0403_0220 0403_0221 0403_0225 0403_0226

0403_0233

Yep, a curtain. That little promise last time I showed you the kids room, had me in a hurry to get this project ticked off the list. And Miss E’s bed is waiting in the wings for her transition from a cot, which I’m hoping will go smoothly just as soon as we’re all over our current colds and the lack of sleep that comes with them.0403_0227 0403_0236

 

So what do you think? To be fair I should probably let you know what I think first right?

So… I’m not convinced!

It’s not bad, it’s not ugly, it’s not weird. I can’t even really call it a failure. It’s just… something about this that has gone too far in this room and has led me to say “whoa there, just give up on this room for a little!”. Of course, I’m already thinking of how and where we’re going to arrange some sort of bunk bed system as there’s not room for two single beds in here (unless we lose a dresser, which is not an option!) but Miss E’s inherited a toddler bed from some friends so that’ll just fit right in where her cot left off, and be sufficient for quite some time. So – stop me!

Back to the curtain: I love the style (idea from this one on my Kids Room pinterest board) but the colour, or the fabric, or the pattern or maybe just the size is not working for me here.

It’s one of those times where you have a fuzzy vision of something amazing, but when you manage to bring it into focus it looks much less amazing. It happens. And I’m just going to live with it until the big bunk bed change up in here because there are other things gotta happen now!

So I’m hoping you can learn from my mistakes or just do it better. Let me know if you do!

And because I like a happy ending, here’s another angle with some of my favourite things in this room – a new pom pom garland from Jamie Kay, artwork from Ella Quaint, a pile of handmade or vintage shopped blankets and quilts and inherited treasures!

0403_0228

 

3 thoughts on “A spot too much?

  1. Sarah

    I love the spotted blind 🙂 For me, I think it is the olive webbing that doesn’t quite work – perhaps if it was replaced with some teal ribbon ties or even plain white it would look right? I love the spots 🙂

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      You could well be right Sarah. But if I admit it then that makes my husband right too! He gave that olive coloured webbing the thumbs down as soon as he saw it. But I chose it (from a limited range) to bring a bit of boy into that girly corner. Being a shared room I’m finding it hard to make “multi-coloured” feel masculine enough for a growing boy! But I LOVE the idea of the ribbon ties and maybe that simple change out might make me smile at it instead of scowling everytime I see it (which is very, very often!). Thanks for your suggestions!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Growing room | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

