Welcome in!

0314_0082

After almost two years of wear and tear, our mid century doormats were defintely more antique condition than retro cool.

After looking around for some replacements I was a little stumped. Yes, there are plenty of nice doormats to be had, but there’s something that just doesn’t sit right with me about spending almost three figures on something to wipe your feet on.

For some reason (I’m blaming the muggy afternoons we’re getting this week) it took a while for me to come to “hey… I have two dead doormats, a bunch of spray cans… how about round two of DIY doormat design?”

But there wasn’t three minutes after that thought before I was out ready with spray can aimed!

Prep was limited to a quick bashing of the mats with a half brush to get the worst of the dust and dirt out. Obviously you’d be better off starting with some fresh clean mats (from memory these were something like $7 each from Bunnings) but Miss E was asleep and a trip to Bunnings wasn’t happening.

Excusing the sorry mess of front lawn (it’s not all this bad, I just picked this spot for my painting spree because clearly I couldn’t destroy any grass in the process) this is my two doormats with a base coat – one of silver and the other duck egg blue.

0227_9947

Without too much thought I grabbed my masking tape and whipped up one grid design:0227_9949

And then a random diagonal version:0227_9950

For something that took all of 15 minutes effort, with barely a minute of prior thought, I’m delighted with the results! My front entrance and back door look so much more welcoming and bright!

0227_9951 0227_9955 0227_9956 0227_9962 0227_9964 0227_9967 0227_9968

 

The paint job may or may not last long… but there are more spray cans in the garage!! Thank goodness for spray paint right?! It hides an array of disasters… although sometimes it can be the disaster!

2 thoughts on “Welcome in!

Leave a Reply

