That grown-up feeling

If you’ve been a faithful reader (I thank you from the bottom of my heart!) for some time you’ll know we love colour in this house, but we have yet to actually paint anything in something braver than whites or greys (exterior).

Oh but I forget… our door!

0131_9492

Nevermind that I’m really not besotted with that result and am considering something more… neutral.

But forget that for now. Because I’m mulling over something a little more dramatic for our master bedroom…

We’re not quite done out the back yet, but while one project is trucking along nicely I always have another one or two doing the rounds in my brain, and Andre especially likes to jump around from working on this to that and back again. So as much as I wish we could just pick an area and deal to it properly before moving on, it just doesn’t work out that way.

That’s the long way to say we’ve started on some master bedroom improvements and of course I can’t wait to make some more progress and share it with you.

If you want the bite sized bits and pieces of what we’re up to (like having some fun with steel tube while thinking of a pergola over our deck) you’re best off following along over at Instagram (@duckeggblueblog).

For now though, just feast your eyes on this grown-up goodness (all images below from my Pinterest bedroom board or click the picture for it’s original link)…

the design files

Dark (and Surprisingly Soothing) Bedroom Walls

Dark (and Surprisingly Soothing) Bedroom Walls

 

interior by jean liu

Do you get that moody-cosy-romantic-retreat kind of feeling? Or do you think it’s all rubbish and we should stick with light and crispy white for this pretty well sunless bedroom of ours?

bedroom

 

Hmmmm???

6 thoughts on “That grown-up feeling

  1. smallbutvaluable

    My last two bedrooms have been a deep, moody green (kind of a deep olive drab), and I have absolutely loved them. If our sheets and such would go with the blues you’ve shown, I would go that direction next. They’re beautiful. Absolutely a personal choice though.

    Reply
  2. Steph

    Go for it! I painted my bedroom a dark navy (Dulux Signature – it looks grey on the chip but it’s navy on the wall!) and I find the dark colour really calming. It helps when bed linens and everything else are nice and light.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Pin of the day: A starry night | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

