A curtain call

0920_8166

Last week you got a peek of the curtains in the lounge when I got all summery and rearranged it, along with a promise that I’d share the bedroom ones real soon. Is now soon enough?!

I’ve done a bit of less than artful cropping, so my apologies for the substandard photos. I’m just really starting to get irritated by the ugliness slash junkroom-ness of the master and spare bedrooms, so I didn’t even want to see the worst bits through my viewfinder, let alone share them with you all. One day I’ll be excited to show you every little nook and cranny, but not just yet ok?

This is the spare bedroom… all pretty and light with those dreamish curtains over our black out blinds –

0925_8167 0925_8168

At US$4.99 a pair, these are an absolute bargain, and the smile value for money is huge! Get yours here at Ikea. The only catch is having someone in the US (or Australia or the UK) to help you out with shipping them beyond the edge of the Ikea world to l’il old NZ.

Here’s how they look in the master bedroom:

0925_8171 0925_8170 0925_8172

Oh I just can’t get over how much of a difference such a flimsy piece of material makes to not just the window, but the whole room. The way they filter the light… oh yes I could get poetic if you let me!

But how about I just show you a couple more close ups instead?

0925_8175 0925_1392

Gorgeois! (pron. Gorge-wah)

You can see they are quite an open weave, which frightened me a little when I first saw them (like old 80s net curtains) but I’m well over that now, and actually they’ll go perfectly with my macrame plant holder (my eyes are peeled, watch out TradeMe!).

In case you missed the two part story of the DIY curtain rods, you can read it here and here.

By the way, wasn’t it quite the morning with Oracle bringing it to 8-8. I have butterflies and they’re not going anywhere until the final race is over. C’mon boys!

2 thoughts on “A curtain call

  1. Pingback: How do we DIY?… Tortoise or hare? | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: Master bedroom makeover: Moving in | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

