Pin of the day: My favourite midcentury pattern

Evoking little antennas from old timey black and white TV’s, Charles and Ray Eames created this timeless mid-century pattern in 1947.

First spotted during my wallpaper search, for our custom kitchen splashback, this midcentury pattern is my favourite!

According to Pinterest, it’s inspired by tv antennas, and created by Charles and Ray Eames in 1947. Now that’s timeless.

I enjoyed an hour or so (and could easily have spent longer!) at the California Design exhibition at the Auckland Art Gallery at the weekend, and came away so inspired and excited. Really excited! It’s been far too long since I immersed myself in design and my head hasn’t stopped buzzing since. Now to turn all those ideas into something a little more tangible…

2 thoughts on “Pin of the day: My favourite midcentury pattern

  1. Kat

    I love this motif, and the story behind it. Our new house is kind of a blank canvas, so I need to find some ways to incorporate little bits of interest like this. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

