An organised office nook

I don’t know where to start with this, so maybe I’ll just start at the end?

0625_Officenook

Aaah that’s better! I guess I just didn’t want to start by showing you this:

0625_0554That is what was left of the doorway off the lounge into the kitchen, after we started working things around to create a new bedroom, laundry, and the office nook.

I can’t seem to find a photo from before we got started with demo, but here is the view from the other side, looking from the original kitchen into the lounge.

0625_0015

Here is the wall as it was getting cut out…

0625_0557

And after the framing and lining was completed…0625_1586

Eventually the trim got finished and we got some paint up. That is how it stayed for longer than I care to remember – one giant filing cabinet across the lounge, and a definitely seen better days student desk, with piles of all sorts half hiding behind it.0625_2087

Then the magic started to happen. We bought a piece of laminated timber benchtop off Trade Me, cut it to fit, varnished it up and one evening last winter it got installed!0625_4832

That was followed by some much needed shelves.

0625_4948And the delay since then has been all mine. I guess I was busy elsewhere.

So now I am delighted to introduce you to my office nook. Enjoy! Feast your eyes!

0625_7220

0625_7221 0625_7224 0625_7219 0625_7218 0625_7208 0625_7207 0625_7206 0625_7205 0625_7203 0625_7202 0625_7201 0625_7200 0625_7199

Here’s something of a source list:

Desktop – Trade Me
Shelves – Bunnings
Pinboard – inherited
Storage boxes – The Warehouse, Briscoes, Boxalong
Jars – collected
Ringbinders – Warehouse Stationery (labels my own)
Drawers – Ikea via Trade Me

As for a budget… do you mind if I skip that today? It’s been quite the challenge enough to get photos done and a post up!

I love that the pinboard will be a constantly changing artwork, but I also plan to hang something gorgeous to the left of it for balance. We are also toying with the idea of a narrow shelf (like this) above the pinboard to balance the shelves either side, and provide a little more storage space.

I do hope you love this space as much as I do! I’d be delighted to know what you think… comment away or tell me on Facebook.

 

8 thoughts on “An organised office nook

  1. Shonelle Townsend

    This looks amazing. Youve done a great job…not sure how much office work will get done while you’re sitting there admiring all the prettiness haha.

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    Love it! Am exceedingly jealous. My ‘office nook’ post renovations (and post baby #2) is a piece of offcut benchtop just big enough to balance the laptop on 😉

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks Sarah – don’t be jealous though, just take a look at those before/progress photos… I lived with worse than average for a long time too!

      Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks Jen! Yes I do love it and I’m so pleased it’s finally done – although nothing is ever quite done with me around!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Don’t be a wallflower | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: How do we DIY?… Tortoise or hare? | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

