Grass is greener: second attempt

So, last time we talked about grass I was still holding out hope.

0507_7065

This time, not so much. A sad and sorry lawn after 3 weeks of waiting for a miracle sent me back to the seed shop for another bag of Supalawn seed and some more advice. Another $11.70. And a disappointed face.

0516_7087

After all that rain we’ve had the bare patches were pretty compacted and so unwelcoming. 0516_7089

A gentle as possible rake over while trying not to disturb the baby grass roughed them up a bit ready for new seed. 0516_7090

This time I ripped a small hole in the bag and shook it around as I walked, spreading heavier on the barest patches and a light sprinkling everywhere else. As I went, I stamped it in a little to help it to hold on in case of more rain. A light watering, and I was done. I didn’t want to give it too much water as the soil is still pretty soggy. And once again, the hose is left trailing along our front pathway as I’m far too lazy to roll it up between daily waterings. 0516_7091

Fingers and toes crossed this time.

7 thoughts on “Grass is greener: second attempt

    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks Jared – you’re probably right. I actually only watered it a couple of times because we’ve had some beautiful days, but now the rain is back I’ll pack up the hose!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: Shifting dirt and blasting water | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: Beer crate to kindling box | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: Pots on the patio | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: I call that a lawn | Duck Egg Blue

  5. Pingback: A quick weekend update on the patio | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

