Just buy a Christmas tree

I’m feeling a bit battered this morning…

But let’s start with a promising beginning!

One sunny Saturday afternoon a few weeks ago I was scurrying around the front yard tidying up here and there… I broke out my loppers on a tree stump that is supposed to be dead but persists with sprouting “branches”. I keep telling it to just give up but it’s not listening (maybe I should call it Master W the Second). Once I was done giving it a real good telling off the branches got put aside instead of joining the ever-growing heap of garden waste on the trailer. I had an idea you see…

1207_5462

The first five minutes went well and things started taking shape quite nicely:

1207_5465

I think you can see where I’m going with this…

Except as soon as I put my hot glue gun down it all turned pear upside-down-christmas-tree-shaped. Those little sticks just didn’t cut it for the base. Sigh… thanks to Andre for coming to my rescue and supplying a solid block of timber (not so pretty but it does keep that tree up the right way):

1207_5546

I hummed and hahhed over the decorating thing for a couple of weeks then decided to keep it nice and simple. I had some red and white striped ribbon I’d been intending for another project… it got cut into flags. And more hot glue later we had…:

1207_5549

… a sailing ship! Not quite what I had in mind so the flags/sails were barely on for two minutes before I ripped them all off again. Are you sensing a theme here? “Try, try and try again” maybe? Or “just give up now”?

The next night… out comes the hot glue gun (I opted for the first theme suggestion) again.

1207_5553And we have a simple stick tree! Thank goodness for that! Let’s call it done and have a closer look…

1207_5555

1207_5559

1207_5558

Oooh pretty!

I got to enjoy it for about 36 hours before this* happened.

1207_5560

I have to say this for it – at least it landed on its feet… well, foot. Perhaps it has a bit of cat in it and still has 6 lives left? Or shall I give up now?

*This being a boisterous almost 3 year old monkeying around on the sofa with the cushions.

5 thoughts on “Just buy a Christmas tree

  1. Pingback: Fencing ourselves in | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: It’s Christmas | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: Merry Christmas and a bit more | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

