Glamming up the man…

…robe. Further to the sanding, I got stuck into glamming up my manrobe again. Can you tell this is my current pet project?! I’ve been wanting one of these for so long now, I’m just pleased to be getting into it!

My beloved manrobe has one of these quaint slide out rails (so your clothes hang in a row front to back instead of side to side) but it was a bit stuck so needed some greasy attention.

 

Lubed up, he was up next for a new coat of shining armour.

The first coat happened outside:

Then a couple more coats inside (dodgy weather) got it nice and glossy:

We used Cabot’s Cabothane, which we believe is the same stuff we used on our kitchen shelves (but with a change of name?). Chosen because it’s water-based and less fumey than oil-based products. It’s super easy to apply and cleans up easily. With 3 coats I think it will hold up just fine to the wear and tear of a childs bedroom.

Mr Manrobe is now awaiting me to fix up his handles and maybe give his insides a bit of smartening up, then I’ll be sorting Master W’s haphazardly arranged wardrobe of clothes into fresh new order. Aahhhhh!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Glamming up the man…

    1. Jolene Post author

      No this one is a la naturale, but another tallboy I have is going to be yellow. Just want to get this one finished first! Having some trouble getting handles back on…

      Reply
  1. Pingback: The Block NZ: My Room Three | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: Father’s weekend in the man cave | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: Who would have thought?! | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: Ferns for fresh air | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

