Stripping the man…

…robe.

Saturday saw us picking up a manrobe (among other adventures) which we purchased for a bargain price of $67 on Trade Me. I was convinced it would go for over $150 and left Andre to bid up to that amount (it closed at 11pm – I was well in bed by then!) so I was delighted when he told me (at around 4am after feeding session number lost count) we won it, and for so much less than I thought it would get to.

While the littlies were sleeping and he had to keep away from the power tools Andre went to pick it up.

I was glad to see that all it needed was a going-over with the sander and then a spit and polish to have it looking lovely but still character-worn. Having had a saved search going on Trade Me for one of these things for the kids room for months now, I was super keen to get stuck into it.

So I did. I handed over the baby monitor to Andre, got my dust mask and safety glasses on and got to work.

First up I dismantled the handles, which proved to be a little more time-consuming than I would have thought, and the first three all came off in varying combinations of handle pieces. I decided I’d better grab a bag to collect all the bits in.

There wasn’t a close up of the handles on the Trade Me listing, so I wasn’t entirely sure what they were like, but thought I could easily replace them if I didn’t like them so it was hardly a deal-breaker. But Andre really likes them and I quite like them, so I think they’ll stay. They’re also quite nice to “handle” which is one of those little details that make such a difference when you’re battling to get a toddler dressed!

As mentioned, they all came apart in different ways. This was the one that stayed together, but most others had the handle part in a few more pieces than the one you see here!

Note: I need to spruce up the handles and their hardware a bit (they’re a little tarnished and rusted) so any advice on a simple way to do so would be appreciated!

Once all the hardware was secured in its bag I got onto the real job of sanding Mr Manrobe. (Power tools were allowed for me at this point because I was working in the back yard, not right outside the little ones windows where Andre was halfway through installing an irrigation system in our new garden.)

No progress shots on this as I was hard at work and too filthy to pick up the camera. Besides, I was having fun! Here though you can see where I got to with the orbital sander, and the top level has been cleaned off, and the bottom level still covered in sanding dust. Once I cleaned up the rest of it I got to work with some sandpaper and got the edges (see below how there are still dark bits, with varnish on them) and all the fiddly corners done too.

By this time it was cooling off (you can feel it in the blue-ness of the photo above!) and the little ones were both up and “helping” (Master W) or watching (Miss E) so I was glad to be finishing up and heading inside.

I was so pleased with myself though for getting stuck in and completing the sanding job within hours of Andre picking it up! Not many things happen quite like that around here, as you’ll well know if you’ve been reading my vague and unfulfilled promises of “I’ll have some finished photos for you real soon!” for a while.

I’d hate to disappoint you though so you can count on it being at least 3 more months until I get back to this project and varnish it and get those handles back on (even handles take months around here)!

Anyway, here’s the stripped manrobe in all it’s glory (sitting on our concrete back lawn in all its glory):

Anyone else get to stripping (furniture only please…) last weekend? Or have plans for it this weekend? I haven’t put ideas in your head now have I?!

 

7 thoughts on “Stripping the man…

  1. Tracy

    Hi Jolene,

    A quick question, what type of orbital sander do you use? A little one (Mouse) or something a bit more grunty.

    Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Hi Tracy, it’s a Ryobi random orbital sander (115mm diameter). It seemed to work well on the manrobe but I’m no expert! Hope that helps…

      Reply
  2. miss browne design

    What a bargain! I saw some nice ones at Royal Oak Traders but they were a bit pricey! Good job on the sanding too. I sanded down my white cabinet thinking I would re-spray it but never got round to it. I’ve put it back in the lounge with books etc and it looks a little rough but if anyone asks I’ll just say I’m going for the shabby chic look! It’s a next summer job…

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Whoever would have thought the furniture we made back then would be still around now?! The shelves I had made have had many lives since and one is now Andre’s and one is Miss E’s. Race you to finishing our sanded pieces of furniture!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Colours of Holland | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: Glamming up the man… | Duck Egg Blue

  5. Pingback: The Block NZ: My Room Three | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

