Too good to pass up

When we did the big rearrange-o in our lounge a couple of months back we made a “separate” play space for the kids where they would hopefully keep their toys at least a little bit contained. It’s working better than the previous set up where they (I’m talking Master W here really, Miss E is not included for now!) and their toys went everywhere I happened to be (they still do, but at least now there is one place for them all to go back to).

For a while we made do with an old lime green blanket so playing on the floor wouldn’t be quite so uncomfortable for those of us over 2 1/2.

Seeing as it totally clashed with my persian perfection (can you tell I love our lounge rug?!) I was keen to get something a bit more toned down. What I had in mind was an off-white shag rug. Simple yes?

No! Do you think I’ve been able to find not only a shag rug in off-white, but in the right size (120x180cm)? No sir-ree I have not. At least not for a reasonable (under $150, it’s for the kids and their mess and may not last long) price.

Anyway I found a stand-in which is great in all things other than it’s comfort factor! It’s a leather woven rug a bit like the one we got for Master W’s room. It’s neutral but with plenty of texture so it’s not plain, and will be good for the spare bedroom once we get our two light sleepers into the same room. Plus, it was the perfect size and the real drawcard was the $35 price! On special at Ezibuy. You can hardly get a doormat for that price!

Miss E gets the quilt Gran made for her as well to protect her delicate self.

I think our home will always be an evolving mix of the perfect and the not-so-perfect. Isn’t it funny how we always have visions of perfection despite knowing full well that sometimes we just have to make do? I’m still looking for my shag rug!

2 thoughts on “Too good to pass up

    1. Jolene Post author

      Thanks Miss Browne! Yes it it a gorgeous quilt, my mother in law is very clever at those sorts of things. Which comes in handy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

