One thing off the list

Well I can cross one thing off the list for the little ones’ bedroom. As mentioned when I posted this moodboard I’ve had my eye on a rag-style rug. They finally came into stock at Freedom and I picked it up last week.

It’s great! Having not seen it “in person” I was prepared to be disappointed, but was more than happy to pick it up and bring it home.

Master W helped to roll it out and is now intrigued by the great long tube it came rolled around!

Here’s some shots taken last Friday when he was well enough out of the way that I could tidy his bedroom and have it stay that way for the duration of a few photos:

It’s not strictly a rag rug, but I believe it is made from offcuts of leather so it is a wee bit environmentally friendly too which is a nice bonus. At $129 and around 1500x2000mm it’s also a great bargain. While it’s not exactly a plush shag rug and does feel a little “rough” underfoot, it’s just nice to have something with a little more give than wooden floors, and even just the look of it has warmed the room already! I love the colours and know that it will wear well and last through multiple room updates as the colours are gender neutral, or balanced I suppose, and there is enough variation to not limit anything else that might take my fancy!

Like a yellow dresser… stay tuned for that!

I’ve also purchased another similarly constructed rug for the play area in the living room… it came folded so I’m waiting for the creases to mellow out before I get some pictures for you.

Anyone else warming up with new rugs (it’s chilly here) or perhaps rolling them up for a few months if you’re currently in the warmer hemisphere?

6 thoughts on “One thing off the list

  1. miss browne design

    That is really lovely! I don’t know why but I was expecting something much brighter – more primary colours. The colours are really muted and it really suits the room and your decor – and what a fabulous price for such a big rug! I like! x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Glad you like it! I can’t wait to make some more progress in there – it’ll be nice to have one room in the house looking fabulous!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Too good to pass up | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: Inspire Monday: Rug making | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

