A mummy moment disguised as an oven review

In the name of reviewing our new Parmco oven I thought I’d bake a cake.

Actually, I just thought I’d bake a cake so I could eat it.

I deserve it after the morning I’ve had – a not quite two year old who is trying on the terrible two’s and half of said cake being mopped off the oven, floor and bench after I put the ring tin together upside-down and it dropped out the bottom.

Thankfully I managed to rescue a fair bit of it and dumped it unceremoniously in another tin. So it looks a little on the small and lumpy side of things but I think I’ve found my new quick chocolate cake recipe.

Aaaahhhhhh! I’ve literally just scraped the last spoonful off my plate and am now enjoying a coffee with cream (what decadence!) to wash it all down. If that sounds like I just ate the whole cake I have to say I didn’t… although it does feel a little like I did!

Now, to the oven review. We contemplated brands and prices and styles and all those things, but I kept coming back to Parmco in general as a value for money deal.

There were mixed reviews out there so I have put all my confidence into the 5yr guarantee at this point. This is what really stood out to me in comparison to other brands. Being a kiwi, I have a bit of a thing for Fisher & Paykel, but with only a 2yr guarantee I couldn’t rec0ncile it with their prices.

We bought the Parmco Dimoda oven in white (Model No. OV-1-6W-8). I believe it comes in stainless also, but with our white cabinets I thought the stainless would stand out too much. White also happens to be a bit cheaper which was a bonus.

We bought it from Great Deals Direct (now Appliance Smart) who gave the best deal out there when combined with the hob. Of the 8 functions, I have used only 4 or so, so don’t take this as a comprehensive review if you’re a real baker.

We’ll keep this simple and start with good things:
– Even heating
– Digital countdown timer
– Easy to wipe down (as proven just an hour or so ago with cake all down the front of it)
– Lots of racks/trays (see below in bad things also)
– Style
– Price

Bad things:
– Slide out racks (these are just annoying and not useful at all)
– Too many racks/trays (I have taken two out permanently and stored them in the space below the oven as spares)
– Door doesn’t open out flat (so you can’t sit trays on it – this is quite possibly a safety feature)
– Have to stand back when opening the door if the oven is on as you get quite a blast of heat come out at you (see even heating above… might just be because it holds heat very well)

Overall, I am very happy with it and secure in the fact that if anything goes wrong in the next 4 1/2 years we should be well looked after. We also bought a Parmco hob but I’ll hold off on a review of that until another day… I’m a bit full right now.

Here are a couple of photos of the oven in our kitchen (you can see the white is actually quite different to the white of our cabinets, but to be honest, it hasn’t concerned me since about day 3 after installation):

You can see in the above picture where our builder put a handy handle on the cover panel below the oven. This means we can use the otherwise wasted storage under the oven for trays and things.

Oh I almost forgot the cake recipe – it’s a good one, from the recipe book that comes with the Easiyo Yoghurt Maker:

Yoghurt Chocolate Cake

125g butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
60g cooking chocolate, melted
2 cups plain flour
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp cocoa
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup Easiyo yoghurt
1/3 cup boiling water

Preheat the oven to 180. Cream sugar and butter. Add eggs and beat in, then add melted chocolate. Mix well. Sift dry ingredients and add a little at a time, alternating with the yoghurt (I just chucked all these bits in then mixed). Add boiling water and beat well. Pour into a buttered/floured/lined 23cm round tin (make sure you assemble properly if a ring tin!). Bake 35-40mins.

For the frosting, beat 125g butter until creamy. Add 1/4 cup Easiyo yoghurt, 1 tsp vanilla essence, 3 cups icing sugar and 2 tbsp cocoa. Mix well.

Eat while little one is fast asleep and Mr is at work. Leave some for them later if you feel like it.

2 thoughts on “A mummy moment disguised as an oven review

  1. Cindy

    Thanks for the review. I am going through the same thought process now as yourself – mixed reviews Vs price vs 5 year warranty. Really interested in your view on the hobs as also thinking of getting this.

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      We’ve been really pleased with the gas hob – it’s lasted well for almost 5 years now. Only minor complaint is the printed logo and graphics around the knobs are wearing off just with general cleaning. To be expected!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

