It’s a whitewash!

First we purchased an old mid century lounge suite off Trade Me and reupholstered it in white vinyl (seen here)… then we bought some Eames replica chairs (mentioned here) in white.

We have a toddler that doesn’t sit still despite listening to 22 months of “Just sit still while you’re eating!” so white is probably not the most sensible choice and we did have a few people (older, wiser… with now grown up children) mutter under their breath “White? Really? Have you thought about the fingerprints?”

But having had the lounge suite for probably a year now, and the dining chairs for a good six months plus, I’m still smiling (and not with a grimace underneath like my sister in law with 4 children under 5)!

A while back I borrowed an interesting looking sponge off my mother-in-law to try it out it’s potential on the lounge suite. It was one she’d bought at a Home Show or such-like, it was completely unbranded and she couldn’t remember the name of the stand or anything. Short story is, it worked and I’ve been semi keeping an eye out for one since.

Lo and behold, in a chase around Storage Box (the little one is going through a “run away!” stage) I spotted this:

Which says “Why is Whitewash so effective? Whitewash sponge is made from fibres, 10,000 times finer than a human hair. This creates millions of surfaces to pick up dirt, grime and stains, which makes the Whitewash sponge more effective than using traditional sponges.”

At $2.99 I thought it was well worth a try to see if it was the same one my mother-in-law had bought.

I broke it out tonight (the things I do in procrastination over installing insulation…) because in the dusk light the white was looking rather creamy grubby.

First up was the lounge suite, which unfortunately I was so into cleaning I didn’t get any photos for you, but let me tell you, this is the sponge, and the armchairs were even grubbier than I thought!

Here’s a step by step look at how I cleaned up the dining chairs though:

First some helpful “look at that mark!” photos…

This one actually looked suspiciously like a pen mark:

I even dared to line up the high chair for a clean with the magic sponge:

Here is the sponge mid clean, looking a little grubby:

And here is the sponge, and a rag (to wipe down after cleaning with the sponge, as per instructions) once finished… yick!:

It was actually a lot filthier than it looks in this photo, and wayyyy filthier after cleaning the lounge suite, but it just rinses right out and is ready for use again. The cloth will need to go in the wash!

And here are my shining white chairs all lined up for an after photo:

So, the Whitewash sponge is one product that looks like a gimmick, but is not. And at less than $3 there’s really no question – it’s a bargain. It’s also super environmentally friendly as no cleaning products are required – just dampen the sponge with water. And child-friendly to top it all off as no nasty residues are left behind. Miss Browne… something for you perhaps?

6 thoughts on “It’s a whitewash!

  1. missbrownedesign

    Haha! As I was reading your post I thought, “This is worth a try!”. White chairs + 3 littlies with no regard whatsoever for mummy’s standard of clean = constant hovering around said chairs at mealtimes to prevent those grubby little hands from making contact! I’m going to get one pronto – thanks for sharing that! x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Doesn’t it just feel like sometimes you are forever wiping up after little ones? (And big ones mind you…)
      I was at Storage Box today and the one I went to didn’t have the sponges anymore, but I did see them at Briscoes for the same price. Also saw online that Mitre 10 have them.
      Good luck!

      Reply
  2. miss browne design

    Hello! I bought one from Bunnings and it is amaaaaazing! In fact, the only downside I can see to it is that I am going to be cleaning everything around the house like a mad woman from now on! Thanks for sharing that (and Ryan thanks you too)! x

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Tidying up on Topsy-Turvy Thursday | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: Dining chairs madeover | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

