Mid Century Style

I have a new appreciation for mid century design… new as in about a year old. Which is pretty new, and who knows if it’ll last another year.

I’d love to know when I’ll come to a design era and just stick with that for the rest of my life. While it could get boring it would be very convenient in that I wouldn’t dislike my decor after a few short months of enjoying it.

For now, it’s mid century. And currently on our mid century list of decor is a lounge suite:

The sofa part of the suite can be seen (just) here, and excuse the packing box coffee table – it has been replaced!

We also inherited a couple of these chairs, which I’m not sure are strictly mid century (anyone enlighten me?) but they match:

And purchased a couple of these kid-size Coolie chairs off TradeMe (love them!):

And of course we have this table (from an office clearance shop – yet to be tarted up) and chairs ($50ea from Ezibuy online, of all places):

Neither original mid century pieces, but we’re talking style here, not collector’s items.

Another little nod to mid century, which may surprise you, is our kitchen splashback. It’s my favourite part of the kitchen and I’m so pleased I persisted with the idea… it’s wallpaper, behind clear glass. The pattern is very mid century, and it’s by a UK company called Missprint, and the cheapest way to purchase at the time was via a Canadian website (Saplings) but it is also available from Paper Room in NZ. The pattern is called Muscat Small, in Duck Egg Blue:

Yet to be added is a sideboard (on the to do list, yes he’s making it for me…), as well as some other small furnishings and decor pieces like clocks and vases. Can’t wait to be getting into that level of detail (and have time to browse second hand shops for them on Saturday mornings!).

3 thoughts on “Mid Century Style

  1. missbrownedesign

    Oh, that’s so true about sticking to one design era!!! I totally know what you mean. Mid-century modern is very now, and makes me look at some of my stuff and think “what was I thinking?”! But, although I love the design style and ethos of mid-century modern, I know it is a “trend” that will pass (by “trend” I am not discounting its historical significance – it’s just that it seems to be in every interiors mag at the mo!). I am happy to compromise and be a tad eclectic, mixing bits of this and that from different styles that I love (although hubby has mentioned lately that the house is looking a little cluttered – I didn’t think that was at all possible at my place!!). I definitely think though that mid-century modern is a style that will look good forever, regardless of whether it is “in” or not! I’m sure you will keep those couches forever, and there’ll be fights over who inherits them!

    Also…. I just spotted your kitchen handles! They are our kitchen handles, too! So with the white cupboards, white/grey benchtop AND the handles, we have pretty much the same kitchen! And that configuration is pretty much the same as ours too! (slim cupboard, oven then drawers, and on top, utensils, then hob, then small amount of bench – snap!). The only difference is your beautiful splashback – ours is boring tiles. I love your splashback – it really adds some gorgeous colour and interest. x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Well, what can I say… you have taste! I’ve been wondering about mid-century and whether it’s “in” now just because I am noticing it more or is it really the trend at the moment? Is there a select group of people that like it, or is it mainstream, having replaced… minimalism? Vintage? Anyway, I have a load of other stuff inherited from here and there which I love too, and a lot of that is pre-midcentury. We’ve also mixed with modern ie. glass coffee table so hopefully we get our own mix of styles as you have. I think the best style is your own!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Ubabub is here! | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

