Excuse this house

I just had to share this lovely poem found here.

Some houses try to hide the fact
That children shelter there
Ours boasts of it quite openly
The signs are everywhere

For smears are on the windows
Little smudges on the doors
I should apologise I guess for
The toys strewn on the floor

But, I sat down with the children
And we played and laughed and read
And if the doorbell doesn’t shine
Their eyes will shine instead

For when at times I am forced to choose
the one job or the other
I want to be a house wife but
FIRST I’ll be a mother

Author: Unknown

Sometimes I want to cry when I walk around my house and see how much there is to do… I honestly wonder if EVER it will be finished and ready to just sit and enjoy.

I know I said I was too house-proud to show you a picture of my lounge right now, but I think I have to… it’s weighing on my conscience.

And in case that’s not enough here’s a closer view and one from the other angle:

Oh now I’m crying all over again…

Look at the maps, look at the cushions, look at the sofa (sofa..?! oh there it is!)… they’re the only real fixtures here, everything else will change!

First to go will be the old oven, hob and sink… (there was no room in the garage for these – no room!).

Sigh!

7 thoughts on “Excuse this house

  1. missbrownedesign

    You’re doing amazingly well living through a renovation (as well as being pregnant)! Your “mess” looks like an organised mess at least! And it’s going to look amazing when it’s finished, and you’ll look back and laugh!

    Love the poem – especially “Their eyes will shine instead”. It’s nice to be reminded to slow down every now and then and think about the things that really matter. Thanks for sharing it! x

    Reply
    1. Jolene Post author

      Oh thank you! I often think enviously of the option you chose but we’ve chosen to do it this way so we’re just getting on with it!
      It’s a very cute poem isn’t it – so hard to just put the washing and cooking dinner out of mind and just sit down on the floor and play. Usually I can be heard saying “No, you need to play by yourself – Mummy’s busy”… so bad!

      Reply
      1. missbrownedesign

        Haha! You’re not the only parent to say that – especially when there’s three! The amount of times a day I say “Not now, I’m busy”…! I hear myself saying it and cringe, and wonder if when they’ve grown up they’ll just remember me as this crazy mother who never had time for them! It sometimes seems as though playing is not real work like washing and other housework is (and some would argue that that’s not real work either!), but apparently working is what children are doing when they are playing – learning is their work for the time being! I must admit it felt like work today when I sat with Max and read him story after story to sweeten him up for his nap (he’s trying to sneakily drop them, but it’s too soon for this mama!).

        As for doing it our way, I guess there’s pros and cons for both! I think the way you are doing it is good as you have more time to think about things and the way you want them. With ours, it was decision after decision all in a short time and by the end I was really frazzled and just didn’t care anymore! I look at some things now and wonder if we could have done them differently (but I guess you can also get that when you take the slow and considered route!). Also when you’re doing it all at once you see your money just disappearing at a huge rate and so some things get cut just to stay within budget. My cousin (our builder’s wife!) did tell me though that it’s less expensive to do it all in one go!

        Can’t wait to see how your new bedroom, laundry and office nook work out – it looks as though you’ll have a decent space to have your office (something I wish we had here!). x

    1. Jolene Post author

      Yes that will be the favourite present from the (half) birthday a few weeks ago – the standard boys toy from his uncle! Always accompanied by “earmuffs on! earmuffs on!”.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Mid Century Style | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: How do we DIY?… Tortoise or hare? | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

