Washing day

I enjoyed hanging out my washing today!

Weird…? Hang on – just give me a chance to explain before you pass judgement.

My trusty airer has done well for almost a year… but it’s just not the same is it? Can only fit one load of washing at a time, blows over in the wind, collapses when you try to shift it… good, but could be better.

So off to Google I went to find a wall mounted, narrow clothesline that will happily accept as much washing as I can throw at it (because that’s kinda what I feel like doing sometimes…).

My one golden rule of a washing line is “don’t put it where courier drivers visitors can see it when they arrive”.

Which for us leaves only the back wall of the house which one day will double as our entertaining area and vegie garden. Adding a clothesline into the mix does make it a lot of tasks to fit into one small back yard but we have a plan and are currently believing in it.

Said plan allowed for a pretty small clothesline so it made the purchasing decision pretty simple as I could only find one that met my requirements of a) small, b) large on line space, c) not too ugly.

Found here but purchased at (surprise, surprise) Bunnings with a bonus account discount we were happy campers washers taking it home.

It lay around inside for a couple of days until one night I headed out with the tape measure and a determined look on my face. Works every time – Andre followed immediately to keep things in order.

And up it goes, starting with our location:

The reason why I couldn’t be trusted to do this on my own:

This I can do, but that is not my hairy arm…

Coming together now…

And then finally my turn, stringing it up:

And of course hanging out the washing on this beautiful day!

Forgot to mention the clothesline is a Devon Cottages Single Folding one. Easy to put up, no missing pieces and pretty strong (as tested by Mr Engineer). What more could you want? Maybe a bit more space between the lines would be good (I started off hanging on every second line to get a bit of breathing space going) but obviously that would compromise on either of my two requirements: enough line for two loads and a narrow overall depth. So there we have it – Happy Washing Day! Now the judgement is all yours…

3 thoughts on “Washing day

  1. Pingback: It’s a jungle out there! | Duck Egg Blue

  2. Pingback: Polka dots and a whole lot of dirt | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: How do we DIY?… Tortoise or hare? | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

