Balloons and bubbles on a beautiful day

We were lucky to schedule Master W’s party on one of the best days this winter!

When asked what he wanted for a birthday cake, the only sensible answer I got was balloons. So there began the balloons theme. Bubbles got added when I got carried away and decided to theme the food as well. Balloons gave me just a handful of food options, bubbles added another handful, which is sufficient for a Saturday morning (ie. not lunch) party!

Decoration was minimal (I themed the food remember), but I like to say high impact: the balloon garland is so pretty I plan to leave it there until it shrivels into a deflated state. I got the idea from Design Mom, but didn’t realise until too late that I had nowhere near enough balloons to make one as grand as hers. Still, mine makes me smile!

To eat we had gingerbread balloons, “bubble” corn, fruit balloons, rice bubble slice, meat ball-oons and various other edible balloon and bubble concoctions (some you had to use your imagination for more than others…).

The grand centrepiece (of which I am quite proud) was the hot air balloon cake.

Too bad my boy seemed to think his Duplo friends were building a fence. He is only two and a half… everyone else got it. However, lesson learnt, and next time I will stick with construction themes. Afterall, last year he was only one and a half but knew immediately that I’d put all my love (if not skill) into a hammer cake.

It was my first attempt at fondant and it went very well all things considered (mostly due to the biggest ever sleep by my little Miss E) even though the woven basket was hardly for beginners. Except I guess I just blew that theory. It was one of those times where you have an idea in your head and 9 times out of 10 it looks a million times better in your head. This was the one time where the reality looked pretty close to the picture in my head. Yay for small miracles!

Here’s another picture, just because it would be a waste not to share at least 3 of the 3o I took.

9 thoughts on “Balloons and bubbles on a beautiful day

    1. Jolene Post author

      Haha! I meant to comment on the picture gallery actually… you’re right. It’s up, and I will get posting on it real soon!

      Reply
  1. Jessica Baker

    Very cute cake.
    I love your balloon garland. I would definitely leave it up. I’ve still got birthday balloons up from last november and they haven’t completely gone down yet!!!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Wintering outside | Duck Egg Blue

  3. Pingback: Dining in an art gallery | Duck Egg Blue

  4. Pingback: A Beautiful Decor For Winter

  5. Pingback: Pin of the Day: Lego party | Duck Egg Blue

Leave a Reply

